Washington residents who enjoy spending time on the water need to know the rules that apply to insuring and registering their boat or watercraft. The agents at Western Insurance Associates in Spokane, WA can help you determine whether or not you will have to register your boat before putting it in the water.
Canoes, Kayaks, and Other Non-Motorized Vessels
Any vessel that is not propelled by a motor or a sail will not have to be registered with the state of Washington. If you self-propel the vessel with an oar or paddle, you can use it on almost any waterway in the state.
16 Feet or Less, 10 HP or Smaller
Boats that measure less than 16 feet in length and have a motor that produces less than 10 horsepower do not have to be registered if they are being used in state or non-federal waterways.
Registered in Another State
You can use a boat that is registered in another state without registering it in Washington. If a boat is brought in from another state it will only be legal for 60 days. After that, the registration must be transferred to Washington. You must have proper documentation with you at all times. This is normally a card that states the name of the owner and where the state in which the boat is registered.
At Western Insurance Associates, Washington residents can talk to a reputable agent and learn everything they need to know before taking to the water. Having your boat properly registered and insure is essential if you want to remain in compliance with state laws. Talk to your agent in Spokane, WA today!